CurrentGK -> General Knowledge -> History -> Provincial Kingdoms

If you find this context important and usefull. We request to all visitors to sheare this with your friends on social networking channels.

Provincial Kingdoms

Provincial Kingdoms

Provincial Kingdoms

Provinces of India

Bengal Province :

  • Broke away from Delhi under the reign of Muhammad bin Tughlaq.

  • In 1342, Ilyas Khan founded a new dynasty.

  • Famous sultan was Ghiyas-ud-din Azam who established friendly relations with China and encouraged trade and commerce.

  • The celebrated poet, Maladhar Basu, compiler of Sri-Krishna Vijay, was patronized by the Sultans and was given the title of 'Gunaraja Khan'.

  • Shankaradeva and Chaitanya belonged to this time.

  • The province was occupied by Sher Shah Suri in 1538.
// //  

Gujarat Province India :

  • Broke away from Delhi in 1397, under Zafar Khan who assumed the title of Sultan Muzaffar Shah.

  • His grandson Ahmed Shah-I, built a new city, Ahmedabad. He built Jama Masjid of Ahmedabad and Tin Darwaza.

  • The next prominent ruler was Mahmud Begarha. In his reign, Portuguese set up a factory at Diu. His court poet was the Sanskrit scholar, Udayaraja.

  • In 1573, Akbar annexed Gujarat to his empire.

History of Malwa :

  • Malwa was annexed by Alauddin Khalji in 1305 and remained a part of Sultanate until its Governor; Dihawan Khan Ghuri asserted his independence in 1435.

  • It became powerful under the reign of Hushang Shah. He beautified the city Mandu with Jama Masjid, Hindol Mahal and Jahaz Mahal. Next ruler, Mahmud Khalji was defeated by Rana Kumbha.

  • Malwa became a part of Gujarat in 1531, and was finally annexed by the Mughals in 1562.

History of Kashmiris :

  • Kashmir continued to be under its Hindu rulers up to 1339. Its first Muslim ruler was Shamsuddin Shah.

  • The greatest Muslim ruler was Zainul Abidin (1420-70). Accepted the policy of broad tolerance, introduced the art of shawl-making in Kashmir, built Zaina Lanka and artificial island in the Wular Lake. Called the "Badshah" (the great Sultan) and "Akbar of Kashmir" by the Kashmiris.

  • Later ruled by Chak dynasty, which later submitted to Akbar in 1586.

  • It is said that women played a leading role in their history.

History of Mewar :

  • Alauddin Khalji captured its capital Chittor in 1303. But Rajput rule was soon restored by Rana Hamir (1326-64).

  • The greatest ruler of this house was the famous Rana Kumbha Karan (1538-68). Rana Kumbha built the famous victory tower or 'Vijaya Stambh' at Chittor to commemorate his victory over Mahmud Khalji of Malwa.

  • His court was adorned by Mandan who wrote many books on architecture (Parsad Mandan, Rupa Mandan).

  • Another important king was Rana Sangram Singh (1509-28), who defeated Mahmud-II of Malwa and Ibrahim Lodhi. But he was defeated by Babur at Khanua in 1527.



28 Sep, 2021, 12:10:11 PM