CurrentGK -> General Knowledge -> First Indians -> List Of First In India (Man)

If you find this context important and usefull. We request to all visitors to sheare this with your friends on social networking channels.

List Of First In India (Man)

List Of First In India (Man)

First American President to visit India
Dwight David Eisenhower

● First Asian to be elected president of Britain's Liberal Democratic Party (LDP): Lord Navnit Dholakia
● First Asian to head a British university: Lord Swaraj Paul (when he was elected Chancellor of the Wolverhampton University on May 9, 2000)
● First British Prime Minister to visit India: Harold Macmillan
● First Chairman of the University Grants Commission: S.S.Bhatnagar
● First Chief Election Commissioner of India: Sukumar Sen (21.3.1950 to 19.12.1958)

● First Chief Justice of India: Harilal J.Kania (26.1.1950-6.11.1951)
● First Chief Minister of the tri-lingual Bombay Presidency: B.G.Kher
● First Chief of Air Staff: Air Marshall Sir Thomas Elmherst (1947-1950)
● First Chief of Army Staff: Gen. Maharaj Rajendra Sinhji (1.4.1955 to 14.5.1955)
● First Commander-in-Chief: Gen.Sir Roy Bucher (1.1.1948 - 14.1.1949)
● First Dalit Lok Sabha Speaker: G M C Balayogi
● First Defence Minister of Independent India: Sardar Baldev Singh
● First Deputy Prime Minister of India: Sardar Vallabhai Patel
● First Director General of ICAR: B.P.Pal
● First Eunuch to be elected as a Mayor of an Indian city: Kamla Jaan, who elected Mayor of Katni city in Madhya Pradesh in January 2000.
● First Eunuch to get elected to a state legislature: Shabnam Mausi, won the Sohagpur Assembly constituency in Madhya Pradesh in the February 2000 elections.
● First European to invade India: Alexander
● First Field Marshal: Gen. S.H.F.J. Manekshaw
● First fighter pilot to win the Param Vir Chakra: Flying Officer Nirmaljeet Singh Sekhon (posthumous) for IAF in 1971 Indo-Pak conflict.
● First Foreign Secretary of Free India: K.P.S.Menon
● First Governor-General of Independent India: Lord Mountbatten
● First Indian bowler to get a hattrick in Test cricket: Harbhajan Singh
● First Indian Chief of Air Staff: Air Marshal Subroto Mukherjee (April 1, 1954).
● First Indian Chief of Naval Staff: Vice Admiral R.D.Katari (1958-1962).
● First Indian Governor-General of India: C.Rajagopalachari
● First Indian to be awarded with the 'Victoria Cross': Khuda Dad Khan (for Gallantry in Belgium during the first World War)
● First Indian to be elected a member of British Parliament: Dadabhoi Naoroji
● First Indian to be elected to the US House of Representatives: Dilip Singh Saund
● First Indian to go in space: Squadron Leader Rakesh Sharma. He went in the Soyuz 7-II Spacecraft on April 3, 1984 and returned on April 11, 1984.
● First Indian to hoist the National Flag over the North Pole: Squadron Leader Sanjay Thapar.
● First Indian to record a song on a gramophone disc: Sashi Mukhi of Classic Theatres, Calcutta (1902)
● First Indian to swim across the English Channel: Mihir Sen
● First Indian to win an Olympic Bronze: Khashaba Jadhav (wresting; 1952, Helsinki Olympics)
● First Indian to win the All England Open Badminton Tournament: Pullela Gopi Chand (March 11,2001)
● First Indian to win the World Billiards Championship: Wison Jones
● First Jnanpith Award Winner: G.Sankara Kurup (1965), for his work �Ottakkuzhal� in Malyalam.
● First Minister without Portfolio: N.Gopalswami Ayengar in Jawaharlal Nehru's Cabinet. He, however, went on to become the Minister of Defence.
● First Photographer in India: Raja Deendayal
● First President of India: Dr Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)
● First President of the Indian Union of Civil Liberties: Rabindranath Tagore (1930s).
● First Prime Minister of India: Jawaharlal Nehru (1947-1964)
● First Prime Minister to win a popular entertainment award: Atal Behari Vajpayee (when he won the Screen-Videocon "Best Lyricist" prize in the non-film music category for his collection of poems titled "Nayi Disha" in February 2000).
● First Secretary-General of South-South Commission: Dr Manmohan Singh
● First Surveyor General of India: Sir George Everest
● First Vice-President of India: Dr S.Radhakrishnan (1952-1962)
● First Winner of Param Vir Chakra: Maj.Somnath Sharma (posthumously) in November, 1947
● India's first Test-tube baby: Harsha (born on August 6, 1986).
● Indian Johann Sebastian Bach: Ustad Ali Akbar Khan
● India's longest serving Chief Minister : Jyoti Basu
● Only Army Chief to be awarded with Maha Vir Chakra twice: Late Gen. A.S.Vaidya



29 Jul, 2021, 13:31:35 PM