CurrentGK -> General Knowledge -> Sports GK -> FIFA World Cup

If you find this context important and usefull. We request to all visitors to sheare this with your friends on social networking channels.

FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup, occasionally called the Football World Cup, but usually referred to simply as the World Cup, is an international football competition contested by the men's national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport's global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946, because of World War II. The current format of the tournament involves 32 teams.

Winners of FIFA World Cup

18 tournaments held, seven nations have won the title. Brazil are the only team to have played in every tournament and have won the World Cup a record five times. Italy are the current champions and have won four titles, and Germany are next with three. The other former champions are Uruguay, winners of the inaugural tournament, and Argentina, with two titles each, and England and France, with one title each.


Most Goals Scored

(overall finals)

15, Ronaldo ( Brazil, 1998–2006)

Most Clean Sheets

(matches without conceding) 10, Peter Shilton ( England, 1982–1990) and Fabien Barthez ( France, 1998–2006) Winners Brazil win 5 times (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002) Argentina wins 2 times (1978, 1986) England win one time (1966) Italy wins 4 times (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006) Uruguay wins 2 times (1930, 1950) france wins only one time (1998) Germany wins 3 times (1954, 1974, 1990)



26 Sep, 2021, 03:29:21 AM