CurrentGK -> General Knowledge -> Sports GK -> Olympics Games

If you find this context important and usefull. We request to all visitors to sheare this with your friends on social networking channels.

Olympics Games

Olympics Games

Olympics Games

The Olympic Games are a major international event of summer and winter sports, in which thousands of athletes compete in a wide variety of events. The Games are currently held every two years, with Summer and Winter Olympic Games alternating. Originally, the ancient Olympic Games were held in Olympia, Greece, from the 8th century BC to the 5th century AD. In the late 19th century, Baron Pierre de Coubertin was inspired by Olympic festivals to revive the Games. For this purpose, he founded the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 1894, and two years later, the modern Olympic Games were established in Athens. First olympic was held in Athens (Greece)in 1896.

Olympics Events

The Olympic Games program consists of 33 sports, 52 disciplines and nearly 400 events. For example, wrestling is a Summer Olympic sport, comprising two disciplines: Greco-Roman and Freestyle. It is further broken down into fourteen events for men and four events for women, each representing a different weight class.[91] The Summer Olympics program includes 26 sports, while the Winter Olympics program features 7 sports.[92] Athletics, swimming, fencing, and artistic gymnastics are the only summer sports that have never been absent from the Olympic program. Cross-country skiing, figure skating, ice hockey, Nordic combined, ski jumping, and speed skating have been featured at every Winter Olympics program since its inception in 1924. Current Olympic sports, like badminton, basketball, and volleyball, first appeared on the program as demonstration sports, and were later promoted to full Olympic sports. Some sports that were featured in earlier Games were later dropped from the program.

Olympics Games Host Cities

Athens, Greece (1896)

Beijing, China (Summer Olympic, 2008)

Vancouver, Canada (Winter Olympics, 2010)

London, United Kingdom (Summer Olympic, 2012)

Sochi, Russia (Winter Olympics, 2014)

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Summer Olympic, 2016)



26 Sep, 2021, 03:36:56 AM