CurrentGK -> General Knowledge -> Current Affairs -> FREE CURRENT GENERAL AWARENESS 2008

If you find this context important and usefull. We request to all visitors to sheare this with your friends on social networking channels.




1. Who amongst the following has been appointed as Governor of Reserve Bank of India on 2nd September , 2008 ?

(a) Y.V.Reddy

(b) Bimal Jalan

(c) Duvvuri Subbarao

(d) Amartya Sen

Ans (c)

2. Which of the following city is very recently renamed?

(a) Puducherry

(b) Kolkata

(c) Gaya

(d) Bangaluru

Ans (d)

3. Which of the following is not recognized by UNO as an International Year of 2008?

(a) Planet Earth

(b) Aids

(c) Potato

(d) Sanitation

Ans (b)

4. Who is the winner of Slaka Samman for the year 2008?

(a) Prabhash Joshi

(b) Nazma Hepthullah

(c) Ashok Chakradhar

(d) Rehman Rahi

Ans (a)

5. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards are given for the person who shown exemplary performance in the field of __________

(a) Sports

(b) Politics

(c) Science & Technology

(d) Literature

Ans (c)

6. What was the controversial issue for getting the confidence of Lok Sabha by the U.P.A. Government on 22nd July, 2008?

(a) Increase of prices

(b) Fall of Share Market

(c) Increase of inflation

(d) Nuclear Treaty with US

Ans (d)

7. Who amongst following is not named for one time Life Time Achievement Awards on the occasion of 60th Anniversary of India’s Independence?

(a) Dilip Kumar

(b) Dev Anand

(c) Saroja Devi

(d) Tapan Sinha

Ans (b)

8. What is the estimated G.D.P. rate in 11th Five Year Plan?

(a) 8.8%

(b) 8.9%

(c) 9.0%

(d) 9.5%

Ans (c)

9. What is the range of Agni-3 Ballistic Missile which was launched by DRDA on 7th May, 2008?

(a) 1500

(b) 2000

(c) 3000

(d) 4500

Ans (c)

10. The agricultural growth rate in 2006-07 was -

(a) 1.75%

(b) 2.00%

(c) 2.6%

(d) 3.6%

Ans (c)

11. Who is the present Chief Minister of Bihar?

(a) R.L.Bhatia

(b) Rabri Devi

(c) Nitish Kumar

(d) Ram Vilash Paswan

Ans (c)

12. Who won the First Gold Medal in Beijing 2008 Olympic games For India in the individual category 10 metre rifle shooting ?

(a) Vijyendra Kumar

(b) Sushil Kumar

(c) Abhinav Bindra

(d) Anju Bobby George

Ans (c)

13. What was the major issue for the Left Parties (CPI and CPM) to withdraw support to UPA Government?

(a) To protect the secularism

(b) To protect the interest of the left parties

(c) Against the Nuclear Treaty with USA

(d)All the above

Ans (c)

14. Where was held the WTO (World Trade Organization) Ministerial Conference in July 2008 ?

(a) New Delhi

(b) Jakarta

(c) Beijing

(d) Jeneva

Ans (d)

15. Who is the chairman of U.P.A..?

(a) Sonia Gandhi

(b) Manmohan Singh

(c) Pranav Mukherjee

(d) Shivraj Patil

Ans (a)

16. What is the objective of eleventh Five Year plan (2007-12) ?

(a) Removal of Unemployment

(b) Inclusive growth

(c) Growth with social- justice

(d) Development of minorities

ANS (b)

17. Where will be held the first Youth Olympic Games in 2010 ?

(a) Beijing

(b) New Delhi

(c) Singapore

(d) London

Ans (c)

18. Where will be held the 30th Olympic Games in 2012 ?

(a) Beijing

(b) Kualalumpur

(c) Singapore

(d) London

Ans (d)

19. The name of Thaksin Shinawatra's is associated with which of the follwing countries ?

(a) USSR

(b) Kazakistan

(c) Thailand

(d) Soth Korea

Ans (c)

20. Who amongst the following is the author of the book ‘The Enchantress of Florence’ ?

(a) Benajir Bhutto

(b) Salman Rushdie

(c) Laxmi Sehgal

(d) L.K.Advani

Ans (b)

21. Who amongst the following is the recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award given away in August 2008 ?

(a) Sanjeev Singh

(b) Prabhjot Singh

(c) Mahendra Singh Dhoni

(d) Rahul Dravid

Ans (c)

22. Rafael Nadal who won Wimbledon Open 2008 Tennis Championship is a citizen of—

(a) Spain

(b) France

(c) Russia

(d) USA

Ans (a)

23. The Hiroshima Day was observed on which of the following days ?

(a) 6th August

(b) 14th November

(c) 19th September

(d) 2nd October

Ans (a)

24. Who amongst the following is NOT a recipient of the Dhyan Chand Award given away in August 2008 ?

(a) Sanjeeva Kumar Singh

(b) Mukh Bain Singh

(c) Hokam Singh

(d) Gyan Singh

Ans (a)

25. Who amongst the following is NOT a recipient of the Dronacharya Awards for the year 2007 given away in August 2008 ?

(a) Sanjeeva Kumar Singh

(b) GE Sridharan

(c) Jagdish Singh

(d) Prabhjot Singh

Ans (d)

26. Who amongst the following is a recipient of V.V.Giri Memorial Award for the year 2008?

(a) K.P.Kannan

(b) Megha Patekar

(c) Depak Chawla

(d) B.B.Tondon

Ans (a)



05 Aug, 2020, 21:40:02 PM