CurrentGK -> General Knowledge -> History -> Revolutionary Activities

If you find this context important and usefull. We request to all visitors to sheare this with your friends on social networking channels.

Revolutionary Activities

Revolutionary Activities

Revolutionary Activities

National Revolutionary Movement

  • The first political murder of a European was committed in 1897 at Poona by the Chapekar brothers, Damodar and Balkishan. Their target was Mr. Rand, President of the Plague Commission, but Lt. Ayerst was accidentally shot.

  • In 1907, Madam Bhikaiji Cama, a Parsi revolutionary unfurled the flag of India at Stuttgart Congress (of Second International).

  • In 1908, Khudiram Bose and Prafulla Chaki threw a bomb on the carriage of Kingford, the unpopular judge of Muzaffarpur. Khudiram, Kanhaiyalal Dutt and Satyendranath Bose were hanged. (Alipur Case).

  • In 1909, M L Dhingra shot dead Col. William Curzon Whyllie, the political advisor of 'India Office' in London.
  • In 1912, Rasbihari Bose and Sachindra Nath Sanyal threw a bomb at Lord Hardinge at Delhi. (Delhi Conspiracy Case)

  • In Oct, 1924, a meeting of revolutionaries from all parts of India was called at Kanpur.

  • The meeting was attended by old revolutionary leaders like Sachindra Nath Sanyal, Jogesh Chandra. Chatterjee and Ram Prasad Bismil and some young revolutionaries like Bhagat Singh, Shiv Verma, Sukhdev, Bhagwati Charan Vohra and Chandrashekhar Azad.

  • They setup Hindustan Socialist Republic Association/ Army (HSRA). Their three objectives were:
    1. To raise the consciousness of people against the futility of Gandhian movement of non-violence.

    2. To perform directaction and revolutionto attain complete independence.

    3. To set up a republic of the United States ofIndia on the federal structure.

  • They carried out a dacoity on the Kakori bound train on the Saharanpur-Lucknow railway line on Aug 9, 1925. The conspirators were later arrested and hanged (Ram Prasad Bismil, Ashfaqulla, Roshan Lai and Rajendra Lahiri).

  • Bhagat Singh, with his colleagues shot dead Saunders (Asstt. S.E of Lahore, who ordered lathi charge on Lala Lajpat Rai) on Dec 17, 1928.

  • Then Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt threw a bomb in the Central Assembly on Apr 8, 1929. Thus, he, Rajguru and Sukhdev were hanged on Mar23, 1931 at Lahore Jail (Lahore Conspiracy Case) and their bodies cremated at Hussainiwala near Ferozepur.

  • In 1929 only Jatin Das died in Lahore jail after 63 days fast to protest against horrible conditions in jail.

  • Meerut Conspiracy Case started in 1929 and continued for four years against 31 communists accused of conspiracy against the British sovereign. In this, Muzaffar Ahmed received transportation for life.

  • Surya Sen, a revolutionary of Bengal, formed the Indian Republic Army in Bengal. In 1930, he masterminded the raid on Chittagong armoury. He was hanged in 1933.

  • In 1931, Chandrashekhar Azad shot himself at Alfred Park in Allahabad.

Revolutionary Organisations found outside India:

Organisation Year Founder Place
India House 1905 Shyamji Krishna Verma London
Abhinav Bharat 1906 V.D. Savarkar London
Indian Independence 1907 Tarak Nath Das USA
League Ghadar Party 1913 Lala Hardayal,Tarak Nath Das & Sohan Singh Bhakna San Francisco
Indian Independence 1914 Lala Hardayal and Birendra Berlin
League Nath Chattopadhyaya Indian Independence 1915 Raja Mahendra Pratap Kabul
League & Government Indian Independence 1942 Ras Behari Bose Tokyo
League Indian National Army 1942 Ras Behari Bose Tokyo

(in 1943, INA was reorganized by Subhash Chandra Bose in Singapore.)

Revolutionay Organisation in India:

Organisation Year Founder Place
Mitra Mela 1899 Savarkar Brothers Poona
Anushilan Samiti (I) 1902 Gyanendranath Bose Midnapur
Abhinav Bharat 1904 V.D. Savarkar Poona
Swadesh Bandhav 1905 Ashwini Kumar Dutt Barisal
Samiti Anushilan Samiti (II) 1907 Birendra Kumar Ghosh and Bhupendra Dutt Dhaka
Bharat Mata Society 1907 Ajit Singh & Amba Prasad Punjab
Hindustan Republican Association 1924 Jogesh Chandra Chatterji, Sachindranath Sanyal Kanpur
Naujavan Sabha 1926 Bhagat Singh Lahore
Hindustan Socialist Republican Association 1928 Chandrashekhar Azad



26 Jul, 2021, 19:31:55 PM